To those who shall carry the burden of my coffin

Thanks to a dear friend, I discovered this beautiful piece by poet A. Ayyappan. Perhaps we all aspire to make the transition from life to death through a soul that has been touched by the deep philosophy of love- a flower whose essence is immortal.

The poem:

To those who shall carry the burden of my coffin,
I reveal a secret not mentioned in my will….
There shall be a flower in the place of my heart-
The deep philosophy of love gifted to me by her
in those days of curiosity….
Before you bury my body,
Pluck this flower from my heart….
Cover my face with its petals….
Place a petal on my pale hands bare of their lines…
I wish to return through this flower!
It may be impossible to bare this truth
At the hour of death….
Through the cold water you sprinkle on my body…
The flower may be washed off into my death….
If not, leave my coffin undraped….
For now my friends are the corpses…..

Leave a Reply

