Insanity Quotes

I generally like to keep myself away from tag games. Largely because what I enjoy the most is spontaneity. This is also the reason I like to keep myself away from blogging communities and the contests that come with them. The joy of free-flowing creativity without the need to conform to a subject frame or time frame is something I cherish.

However, I decided to continue this quotes challenge thread only because of the regard I have for my friend Sunith, who has enriched my blogging experience. I thank him for all the support and encouragement he has provided.

Considering that I have always been fascinated by the intricacies of the human mind and by the phenomenon of mental illness, I would like to post a few of my favourite quotes on insanity here.

The distance between insanity and genius is only measured by success. – Bruce Feirstein

 

No great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness. -Aristotle

 

And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music. -Friedrich Nietzsche

 

I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity. -Edgar Allan Poe

 

Highly sensitive people are too often perceived as weaklings or damaged goods. To feel intensely is not a symptom of weakness, it is the trademark of the truly alive and compassionate. It is not the empath who is broken, it is society that has become dysfunctional and emotionally disabled. There is no shame in expressing your authentic feelings. Those who are at times described as being a ‘hot mess’ or having ‘too many issues’ are the very fabric of what keeps the dream alive for a more caring, humane world. -Anthon St. Maarten

 

Digressions, objections, delight in mockery, carefree mistrust are signs of health; everything unconditional belongs in pathology. – Friedrich Nietzsche

 

I feel so intensely the delights of shutting oneself up in a little world of one’s own, with pictures and music and everything beautiful. -Virginia Woolf

 

One must remember that mental illness represents the coping mechanism of a sensitive and fragile mind in response to trauma. We often forget how human the phenomenon of mental illness is; we strip off the human component from it and reduce it to a label. This is what we must refrain from.

After all, mental illness is an illness of the mind and can therefore afflict only those who possess a mind!

P.S. I am sorry that I have nobody to tag.

7 thoughts on “Insanity Quotes

  1. Reblogged this on Perceptions and commented:
    Some insights into Insanity from a WordPress friend Vidya Chathoth whom I would like to introduce to my dear followers..some of her short stories and articles do make us ponder into the wonder that is life…

  2. Vidhya, I really like the honesty with which you have written out this post..
    “I enjoy the most is spontaneity … The joy of free-flowing creativity without the need to conform to a subject frame or time frame is something I cherish.” very true 🙂 I find myself nodding.

    Ash

    1. Thank you for reading, Ash! Yes…writing has always been about honesty. One platform where we can bare ourselves of all our defenses and connect with the raw human being within…

Leave a Reply

